Shriram Shankarlal Music Festival

Shriram Shankarlal Music Festival


  • Shankarlal festival

    Sale Date Ended

    Sold Out
  • Festival

    Sale Date Ended

    Sold Out

Invite friends

Contact Us

Page Views : 71

About The Event

Shriram Bharatiya Kala Kendra presents legendary musical maestros at the 70th edition of Shriram Shankarlal Music Festival: March 30 to April 2


New Delhi: It’s that time of the year once again when legendary musical maestros are slated to perform at one of India’s oldest music festivals – Shriram Shankarlal Music Festival 2017 – that is almost as old as Independent India. The Shriram Shankarlal Music Festival has been curated by Padmashree Shobha Deepak Singh, Festival Director and Vice Chairperson of Shriram Bharatiya Kala Kendra (SBKK) and will be held in the SBKK lawns from March 30 to April 2, 2017, from 7 p.m. to 10.30 p.m. daily. Entry is free.


The four day festival will kickstart with a vocal performance on March 30 by the doyenne of Hindustani music Girjia Devi followed by vocals by Ajoy Chakraborty. Other participating artists are Manjiri Asanare (vocal), Pandit Shiv Kumar Sharma (instrumental on santoor), Biswajit Roy Chowdhury (instrumental on sarod), Rashid Khan (vocal), Purbayan Chatterjee (instrumental on sitar) and the grand finale on April 2 will be by none other than Pandit Jasraj.


Says Shobha Deepak Singh, Festival Director & Vice Chairperson, SBKK: “This is the 70th edition of the festival and, after many years, we are hosting it in open air in the lawns of SBKK. In its nascent years, it was only the senior artists who were part of the festival, but now, we make special effort to include younger talent as well. Contrary to popular belief that classical music is losing its audience base, the success of the festival year after year proves that there is not only a discerning audience for classical music but also that classical music retains its unique position on Indian arts.”


SCHEDULE: AT SBKK LAWNS, 7 p.m. onwards daily


March 30, 2017


Girija Devi: Vocal


Ajoy Chakraborty: Vocal




March 31, 2017


Manjiri Asanare Kelkar: Vocal


Pt. Shiv Kumar Sharma: Instrumental (santoor)




April 1, 2017


Biswajit Roy Chowdhury:  Instrumental (sarod)


Rashid Khan: Vocal




April 2, 2017


Purbayan Chatterjee: Instrumental (sitar)


Pt Jasraj: Vocal


Venue Map