Katy Perry to perform at the IPL 5 Opening Ceremony

Filed under: Entertainment,Sports |

It is out! The identity of the mystery international artist invited to perform at the opening ceremony of the 2012 DLF IPL has finally (officially) been revealed - fans put your hands up for the one and only Katy Perry!

The hottest new singing sensation in the US is all set to enthrall the crowds and set the stage on fire with her groovy moves on the evening of the 4th April 2012 at the opening ceremony of the fifth season of the IPL tournament @ Chennai. And why not, after all, the 2012 IPL is being promoted as the most sizzling edition of the game. (wonder if Katy Perry even knows what cricket is!!)

The ‘Teenage Dream’ and ‘California Gurls’ Grammy Award winner who is already a chart topper in the US and known the world over, will make her India debut with this appearance at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai where she will join other celebrities in flagging off the most awaited league games of the year. Since the IPL games are touted as sports-entertainment, it is not unusual to have performances scheduled before the games begin and Katy will take to the stage alongside a glittering line up of Bollywood stars including the iconic Big B, Priyanka Chopra, Salman Khan, Prabhu Deva and the singer duo Colonial cousins.

The DLF IPL 2012, to be held between April 4 and May 27, will feature 76 games across 12 venues across the country. The opening ceremony will begin on the 4th April 2012 at 7:30 pm but due to the expected crowds, the gates will be opened to the audience from 5:00 pm to minimize the rush. For those who could not get a ticket to the show, do not despair, you can watch every minute of it live on Sony TV so don’t forget to inform your cable operator ahead of time to watch Katy Perry and others flag off the glittering fifth season of the DLF IPL games.


Powered by Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>